Programme 2017 - 2018

All meetings are held at the Womens Institute Hall, Crantock Street, Newquay.
Visitors are welcome, £3.00 per session. Members Free

2017

Friday 8th - Sunday 10th September

Fish Festival - Newquay Harbour


Tuesday 19th September 7:30pm

"Birds around the Gannel Area" - Steve Rowe


Tuesday 17th October 7.30 p.m.

"Cornwall's White Gold" - History of China Clay - Ivor Bowditch


Monday 20th November 2.30 p.m.

"The Music of Poldark" - The Man behind the Music, together with Fiddle and Harp - Mike O'Connor & Barbara Griggs


Monday 11th December 2.30 p.m.

"St. Agnes and a History of Rosemundy House" - Clive Benny

Followed by Bring-and-Share Tea


2018


Monday 15th January 2.30 p.m.

"A Most Unwelcome Haven" - 18th & 19th Century Polperro - Carole Vivian


Date to be announced

Annual Lunch


Monday 19th February 2.30 p.m.

"The Secret Army" - Cornwall in World War 2 - John Jolliff


Tuesday 20th March 7.30 p.m.

"The Women Left Behind" - Cornwall's miners' wives, how they coped - Dr. Lesley Trotter


Tuesday 17th April 7.30 p.m.

Annual General Meeting
followed by "The Cornish Gorseth" - Liz Carne - Deputy Grand Bard Melennek


Saturday 16th June - Courtesy of Win and Peter Hicks, 7 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1NX

Cream Tea Garden Party




FOCS Saint Piran's Flag

Saturday 2nd September 2017

GORSETH KERNOW
THE CORNISH GORSEDD - Launceston


2nd to 5th November 2017

Lowender Peran
Hotel Bristol, Newquay

2nd November 11.00 a.m. NOCS Talk

2nd November 1.30 p.m. NOCS Guided Walk


Saturday 4th November 2017

FOCS Winter Festival at Redruth


Saturday 7th July 2018

FOCS Summer Festival at Callington


NOCS ARCHAEOLOGY GROUP (NOCAG)

If anyone wishes to join us and help us in our worthwhile work - looking after our archaeological and heritage sites, Site assessments and Clearance Work
Please contact Sheila Harper