This granite boundary stone was uncovered during building work near Glendorgal Lodge where Poltair Homes were erecting seven dwellings.
Chris and Hilary Borkett, who live nearby, had previously tried to find the stone that was marked on a map of the area, but without success. During clearance work they kept a watching brief and were on the scene shortly after the stone was found. The find location, of the heavy granite post with its single 'T' inscription, was noted.
A quick telephone call to a director of Poltair Homes ensured the stone would not go missing.
No stones are shown on the OS map of 1880 but a map of 1907 marks four. The remaining three have never been found.
Richard Tangye bought Glendorgal from Arthur Pendarves Vivian MP in 1882 then further fields from William Stephens in 1883. However no mention of the stone(s) has ever been found in the family papers.
It is hoped that it will eventually be incorporated into a wall at the development together with a plaque.
June 2001 update
Poltair Homes were keen to play their part in the preservation of this unique artifact and arranged for it to be incorporated into a front garden wall very close to where it was found. The 'T' Stone in its new resting place, can now be seen from the footpath between Lusty Glaze and Porth beaches.
(As the stone remains something of an enigma it was considered inappropriate for a plaque to be installed at this time)